5 July 2017

Graveyard Mass at Glenkeen



BT Harps Soccer Club Templemore Awards Night

Well done and congratulations to Danielle Ryan Borrisoleigh on being the first female player  to be awarded the Michael “Migger” Fennell award which is given to the Club Player of the Year.

Borrisoleigh Track Attack Notes

Tobin & O’Doherty Defend Borrisoleigh Titles

Siobhan O’Doherty with race sponsor Declan Maher

The fourth annual Borrisoleigh 5km which was sponsored by Declan Maher Financial Services produced a large crowd of athletes from many clubs within Tipperary and beyond. At the head of the field, we were treated to a cracking race when the defending champion Sean Tobin from Clonmel AC went head to head with Kenyan athlete Peter Somba who runs out of the Dunboyne club in Co. Meath.
Sean Tobin with race sponsor Declan Maher
On the sound of the start horn, the field left the village at a blistering pace and it wasn’t long before they returned but it was the leg speed of the American Colleges athlete that ruled supreme at he pulled away over the last 200 metres in impressive style. Despite his excellent finish, the defending champion just lost out on his own course record of 14:58 when he stopped the clock at 15:01. Third home on the night was Michael Carey, another hugely promising athlete from the Clonmel stable.
For the fourth year running, Borrisokane’s Siobhan O’Doherty led the female field home when breaking the tape in 17:40. Another impressive outing from Thurles Crokes’ athlete Madeline Loughnane saw her claim second spot in 18:58 while Dundrum’s Linda Grogan was part of the 50 athletes who were part of the sub 20 minute club when claiming third spot in 19:40.
In the men’s Over 40, Clonmel were again aboard the highest step of the winner’s podium with David Ryan calming the title in 16:52. Templemore’s Pater Madden was second in 17:43 while Dundrum’s William O’Dwyer clinched the third spot in 17:49.
The Over 50’s title went to Crokes athlete John O’Shaughnessy in 18:40, Track-Attacker John F. Kennedy had a superb performance to claim second in 19:09 while Michael Moore from the Dundrum club secured third in 19:51.
Multiple World Overage Champion, Joe Gough from the West Waterford Club won the Over 60’s in 19:17 while the Coolquill duo of Matt and Jack Alexander took second and third respectfully in 20:25 and 21:04.
Dane Ryan from Nenagh Olympic AC clinched the Junior Men’s grade in 18:24 with Moyne’s Dylan McLaughlin and Daniel Slattery of Clonmel claiming the other podium positions.
Templemore ruled supreme in the men’s team event with the team of Tony Fogarty, Sean Percy, Larry Stapleton and Mike Gleeson claiming the title. Dundrum finished in second position while the Thurles Crokes quartet finished in third spot.
Crokes also claimed the Over 40’s women’s grade thanks to an excellent performance from Martina Ryan with her winning time recorded at 20:50. Track-Attacker Eithne Kennedy was second home in 21:16 while Anne McCormack from Ballyskenagh AC took third place.
The Over 50’s title headed to the Treaty County with Helen Hartigan from An Bru finishing head of the pack in 22:58. The remaining podium places were claimed by Track-Attackers with Teresa Murray taking second in 24:08 and Kathleen O’Meara third in 24:56.
Another Track-Attacker Emer Delargy won the Junior Women’s grade in 23:26 with the Ballyskenach duo of Lauren Ormond and Imelda Hennessy claiming second and third places respectfully.
The quartet of Laura Armstrong, Mary Keane, Brid Quirke and Tracy Dwyer combined brilliantly to claim the women’s team event with Moyne AC taking second and the local Track-Attackers taking third.
A field of 450 people participated in the run and walk which was a fantastic number and Track-Attack would like to thank every one of those for their support on the night. 

Borris-Ileigh GAA Club Notes

 Upcoming Fixtures:

The Seniors will play their final group stage match of this year’s County League campaign, they will play Drom Inch on Friday the 14th of July in the Ragg at 8pm. The result of this game will determine our progression in the competition.


Our Junior ‘A’s will begin their much anticipated North Championship campaign in the coming weeks. They start off the campaign against Knockshegowna on Saturday the 7th of July in the Park at 7.30pm.


The Minor’s will resume their push in the North ‘B’ hurling championship after the examination break. They will come up against Portrue in Round 3 of the group stage on Thursday the 13th of July in the Park at 7.30pm. This was previous fixed for the 4th.


Best of luck to all players and management in all grades.


All support greatly appreciated.



We would like to take this opportunity to both congratulate our Tipp Senior Panelist’s, Brendan and Dan for victory over Westmeath last Saturday evening and also wish the best of luck in the effort to retain Liam McCarthy. They will play in Round 2 of the qualifiers next weekend against Dublin in Semple Stadium, Thurles at 5pm as part of a double header with Kilkenny vs Waterford, a victory would send them through to the All Ireland Quarter Final. Best of luck to all involved.



Our Jackpot is now up to €16,800 for the coming week. This weeks numbers were 8, 28, 29 and 30.

Tickets are available at all local shops and pubs.

4 – LUCKY DIP WINNERS – €50.00 each

  1. Katherine Kinane, Fishmoyne
  2. Nuala Ryan, c/o Coffeys Bar
  3. Mary Costello, Main St.
  4. Mick Small, Cullohill

If you wish to play online you can do so here: https://www.locallotto.ie/localhome.asp?LL_ID=549


Clean Up Evening:

Thanks to all that helped out with our recent clean up evening in the Park last Tuesday the 4th of July. We greatly appreciate your help in keeping our wonderful Town Park in such good shape. Thank you.


 Borris-Ileigh Camogie Club

Juniors had a great win over Arravale Rovers in a challenge game on Sunday. Well done girls.


Seniors and Junior’s play a challenge against Toomevara this Wednesday in the park.


U13’s unfortunately were beaten by Annacarty on Tuesday June 28th. Final Score: 2-10 to 2-01.


They also played Drom on Tuesday July 4th and had a fantastic win. Final score: 9-03 to 1-01. Scores from: Hope Bergin 3-01, Aoife Fitzgerald 1-00, Rhona Lyons 1-00, Ava Bevans 2-00, Emma Galvin 1-00, Dani Ryan 1-01 & Katie Fitzgerald 0-01. Well done girls.


Under 13s 2017

Remaining fixtures:

Tues 11/07 – v Shannon Rovers (home)

Tues 25/07 – v Cahir (away)


U12’s travelled to Roscrea last Saturday and played Roscrea, Templemore and Toomevara. Many thanks to Roscrea for hosting and supplying some lovely refreshments. Next games for cluster blitz’s on July 22nd in Toomevara, August 12th in Borrisoleigh and August 26th in Templemore.


Under 12s in Roscrea

U10’s play their next blitz on Saturday July 15th in the Camogie Grounds, The Ragg at 9.30am.


Pic of the Past ………..down memory lane

Young’s of Pallas
Back: Margaret, Bridget (holding Seamus) and Sadie
Front: Patricia Rose and Mary

 Your Website Needs You!

Committee: Enda Ryan, Noreen Fahy, Marie McGrath and Derry O’Donnell
Many thanks to all those who contributed photographs and news items.
Remember, we need you to continue to send us material so that we can keep our website current and interesting.
Send your email to:info@borrisoleigh.ie
While we make every effort possible to ensure that the information contained in this Website is accurate and complete, we cannot accept any legal liability as a result of the inaccuracy or incompleteness of the information presented to users of this site.
Also, if you like what you see and want to leave a comment, remember to use the Guestbook