23 January 2019

Tipperary War of Independence Tours

A selection of Borrisoleigh dignitaries at the Soloheadbeg Ambush Commemoration


Borrisoleigh Active Social Club

The AGM of the Borrisoleigh Active Social Club takes place in the Community Centre Borrisoleigh on Wed Feb 6th at 8pm.  Anyone interested in an officers role for the coming year please give your name to our Secretary Dolores Delaney 0863815020 on or before Feb 1st. 

Pilates class for our members continues every Tues in the Community Centre Borrisoleigh at 6.45pm. 

Scór na bPáistí 

Scór na bPáistí Parish Final will take place in the Marian Hall on Sunday 3rd February at  2pm. Entries to Helen Keane on 087 4140287 no later than Sunday 26th January 2019. 
Scór Sinsir – The County Final of Scór Sinsir will take place in Newport on Saturday 23rd February 2019. 

Borris-Ileigh Juvenile GAA Club

The Borris-Ileigh Juvenile GAA Club AGM was held on Saturday 19th January. Chairperson Jody Boyle reflected on 2018 and extended sympathies on behalf of the club to the families of team coach, Martin Hayes, and former chairperson Gerry Ryan. Jody spoke about the great achievements across all age groups, topped off by the U12s winning North and County Finals in both A and D grades. Jody thanked all the coaches, mentors, parents, club officers and everyone who helped out throughout the year and mentioned the challenges and hopes for 2019.
Club Secretary, Declan Ryan, also spoke about the highs and lows of 2018 and thanked fellow officers and those who work to maintain the fields to such a high standard and highlighted the fact that upcoming fixtures and results will be available through the senior club’s Clubify and Twitter accounts.
Club officers for the forthcoming year are:
Chairperson – Jody Boyle
Secretary – Declan Ryan
Treasurer- Bernice Preston
Child Welfare Officer – James Gould
Vice Chairperson – George Ryan
PRO – Derry O Donnell

Pic of the Past

Coursing Club – 1960s
Back: Joe Stapleton, Paddy (Skinny) Ryan, Jack Bourke, John Gleeson,
Mary Gleeson, Frank Smith, Dick Barrow, Mick Collins, Pakie Finn,
Jack Kenny, Tommy Ryan, (Mokeland) and Jim Bourke
Front: Jimmy Coffey, Willie Treacy, Seamus Hynes,
Jack Ryan, Rathmoy, Sean Kenny, Mick Treacy, Donal Meagher and …..

Your Website Needs You!

Committee: Enda Ryan, Noreen Fahy, Marie McGrath, Derry O’Donnell and Fiona Max
Many thanks to all those who contributed photographs and news items
Remember, we need you to continue to send us material so that we can keep our website current and interesting.
Send your email to:info@borrisoleigh.ie
While we make every effort possible to ensure that the information contained in this Website is accurate and complete, we cannot accept any legal liability as a result of the inaccuracy or incompleteness of the information presented to users of this site. We also reserve the right to edit material for suitability to a website format.

Also, if you like what you see and want to leave a comment, remember to use the Guestbook