Tourism / Amenities
Sites of Interest
The Devils Bit
Tipperary has beautiful lush mountain scenery. The most famous of these hills is known as the Devil's Bit which overlooks Borrisoleigh. Legend has it that the Devil took a bite from the hill as he rode over Ireland. The Devil's Bit Mountain provides spectacular drives and stimulating walks.
The Town Park Templemore
The Town Park incorporates an outdoor Swimming Pool, GAA grounds (Páirc Shíleáin), Lakeside Pitch & Putt Course, and the all-weather athletic track (Templemore Athletic Club
) and playground. The park was purpose built by and planted by the Carden Family over two centuries ago, and the mature woodlands, now feature some beautiful walks, a haven of peace and serenity within the town. One can stroll through secluded paths, under the canopies of mature oak, beech, and chestnut trees, bounded by the picturesque backdrop of the Blackcastle on the western bank of the lake and the old church with its 18th century graveyard on the northern bank.
Garda College Templemore
In February 1964 Garda training moved from the Phoenix Park to McCann Barracks at Templemore where it became known as the Garda Training Centre.
A major building programme saw the facilities developed and modernised to the most up to date standards in Europe and the name of the institution changed from the Garda Training Centre to the Garda College.
In 1992 the Garda College was designated an Institute of Higher Education by the National Council for Education Awards (NCEA). The following year, the two year Student/Probationer Education/Training Programme was accredited by the N.C.E.A. with the Award of a National Diploma in Police Studies. A more recent initiative saw the development of a Bachelor of Arts (Police Management) Degree for Garda Officers of Superintendent rank upwards.
Semple Stadium, located in Thurles, is the home of hurling and Gaelic football for Tipperary and the larger Munster area. It has, what is considered, the finest playing surface in the country and is the second largest stadium in Ireland with a capacity of 53,500. Semple Stadium was officially named as the GAA's number two stadium behind Croke Park in 2006.
The Rock of Cashel
The 4th century Rock of Cashel once the seat of the High King of Munster is one of the most enduring images of Ireland, with its amazing collection of ancient walls, towers and halls, and an excellent multilingual audio visual presentation – a site not to be missed.
Cashel of the Kings Heritage Centre
The Heritage Centre invites you to investigate the rich heritage of Cashel, one of Ireland's most significant Ecclesiastical Centres.
It features a model of the town as it was in the 17th century. It provides the visitor with a series of changing exhibitions, a large-scale model of Cashel in the 1640s, highlighting the lesser-known treasures of the town. The Charters of Cashel, King Charles II (1663) and James II (1687) are also on permanent display. www.casheltouristoffice.com
Roscrea Heritage Town
Roscrea Heritage Town provides visitors with a unique opportunity to enjoy a wide variety of fine monuments which include Roscrea Castle, Damer House, St. Cronan’s 7th century Monastery, the more recent 12th century Romanesque church and High Cross, plus a 15th century Franciscan Friary and a Round Tower. It is one of the oldest and most historic towns in the country. http://www.roscreaheritage.com/index.htm
Holy Cross Abbey
Anyone interested in ecclesiastical sites will have Holy Cross Abbey at the top of their list. Holy Cross Abbey is one of the most picturesque Christian monuments in Ireland, with a charming setting beside the banks of the River Suir. Founded in the 12th century and abandoned in the 1600’s, the Abbey has been lovingly restored to its former glory as one of the finest Irish 15th century churches. Holycross Abbey is noteworthy in that the sanctuary holds a relic of the true cross. http://www.holycrossabbey.ie/
Farney Castle is the home and design studio of Irish International Designer, Cyril Cullen, and it is the only Round Tower in Ireland occupied as a family home. The castle was originally built at Farney in 1185 and this would have been a timber structure at the time. The present round tower was built in 1495 by Thomas Butler, 7th Earl of Ormond, and it was part of the defensive system created by the Butlers to protect their land in Tipperary. The castle is steeped in history having many owners through the centuries and is an example of some of Ireland’s finest architecture. Tours of the castle are available daily and it is well worth a visit. Phone 0504 43281.
Lar na Pairce
Lár na Pairce and the Tipperary G.A.A. Shop are located on Slievenamon Road, Thurles. It is a visitor centre that illustrates the history and development of the GAA which was founded in Thurles. It gives those interested in sport an interesting insight and understanding of how the games began, and how the Association evolved to become Ireland’s foremost sporting organisation. http://18.104.22.168/tipperary/larnapairce/index.html
Thurles Famine Museum
Thurles Famine Museum is situated within the grounds of St. Mary’s Church on St. Mary’s Avenue, Thurles. It provides a fascinating look back at this harrowing period in history. Phone 0504 21133.
The present massive tower, or donjon, was originally one of three towers interspersed in the curtain wall of a Norman Castle. It was built around 1220. It was re-opened in the summer of 2012 after reconstruction work was completed.
Nenagh Heritage Centre & Family History Research Centre
Nenagh Heritage Centre is located in two stone Georgian buildings which were built in 1840-1842 as the Governor’s House and Gatehouse of an extensive gaol complex for North Tipperary. The building is located just a short walk from Nenagh town centre. It features exhibitions, houses North Tipperary Genealogy Centre and a Tourist Office. Phone 067 33850. http://tipperarynorth.rootsireland.ie/
Cathedral of the Assumption
Consecrated in 1879, it is the most impressive edifice in Thurles, the building of which commenced in 1861 during the time of Archbishop Dr. Patrick Leahy. His monument now stands in the cathedral forecourt. The Cathedral was renovated in 1979, and again in 2005. It has splendid features and a strong presence of the Romanesque style similar to Cormac’s Chapel on the Rock of Cashel.
Lough Derg Garden Trail
The Lough Derg Garden Trail
features 8 gardens within a 40 minute drive from Lough Derg. The gardens on the trail are both publicly and privately owned and range in size from 1-10 acres. From manicured and award-winning gardens to gardens which encourage wildlife, there is something for every gardening enthusiast.